Speed Management and Safe System Training

According to WHO, speeding continues to be the greatest contributor of road crashes leading to increase in preventable death and injuries especially in low- and middle-income countries. In response to this growing concern, the proposed theme for the 2021 UN Global Road Safety Week will focus on limiting vehicle speeds to 30km/h on urban streets to save lives. 

The Alliance is partnering with the World Resources Institute (WRI) to organize and deliver training and mentorship for Alliance member NGOs to fast-track their capacity for planning and executing targeted advocacy activities that will result in quicker outcomes and save lives. The training will offer valuable technical and applied knowledge on Safe Systems and speed management ahead of the UN Global Road Safety Week.

The training will be an introduction and overview of these issues drawing on best practices and examples from different parts of the world. The sessions will be a mix of presentations and discussions and will include interactive activities to encourage peer-to-peer learning and sharing of experiences from different countries, as well as use of case studies.

The training course is part of the new and broader but more focused capacity building strategy from the Alliance, the Incubator program, that aims to fast track NGOs’ growth. 

Upcoming speed management and Safe System training

     Date: 17 – 19 February 2021
     Time: 2.5 hours per day:
                     8am – 10:30am EST
                     1pm – 3:30pm GMT
                     4pm – 6:30pm EAT
                     6:30pm – 9pm IST
     Location: Online via Zoom
     Deadline for registration: Friday 5 February 2021, midnight GMT

More information